RSS

242 Days ’til 40: Life’s a Beach

24 Jun

Some days the best life therapy is getting outside, leaving life’s everyday hassles behind, and stopping to enjoy nature.  Today we did that at the beach.

Well, truthfully, we spent most of the day in bed in our pajamas, and then, at the end of the day as the weather cooled down and the sun was a few hours from setting we made our way to the beach.  It was an amazing time to go and the girls and I had a blast swimming in the waves.  We were in the water for almost an hour (a record for me).  It was wonderful – the perfect temperature, less crowded, and a time to relax.

We enjoyed the waves.

And then we ate dinner while watching the sun set over the sea.

And headed home after the moon was in the sky…… what a great day!

Today, 242 days ’til 40, I stopped to remember that we need to take time out and play – it is worth it!

~400daystil40

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

26 responses to “242 Days ’til 40: Life’s a Beach

  1. Uzair Ahmad

    June 24, 2012 at 00:24

    What a wonderful piece of work! :)

     
  2. walkwiththerabbi

    June 24, 2012 at 01:26

    I’m so very happy that you made today a great day.

     
    • 400daystil40

      June 25, 2012 at 00:33

      Thanks! We all need that break every once in a while! :)

       
  3. writerwannabe763

    June 24, 2012 at 02:11

    You need the relaxation!…Diane

     
  4. anotherthousandwords

    June 24, 2012 at 04:56

    Glad to hear about your little sojourn…all of you deserved what sounds like a marvelous time!

     
  5. craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

    June 24, 2012 at 05:02

    JEALOUS

     
  6. buckwheatsrisk

    June 24, 2012 at 05:43

    sounds like the best day ever!

     
  7. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital)

    June 24, 2012 at 12:23

    Beautiful! I want to go to the beach! Maybe I’ll follow your lead and try to get a day out of the hospital.

     
    • 400daystil40

      June 25, 2012 at 00:31

      Hang in there – so sad to hear you are back in the hospital – I hope you are okay.

       
  8. viveka

    June 24, 2012 at 19:00

    Wouldn’t mind your day …. haven’t have been outside today … it’s pouring down with heavy rain … hate it. Envy on you here.

     
    • 400daystil40

      June 25, 2012 at 00:30

      :) We are hoping to go back very soon – we LOVED it!

       
  9. maddiefiles

    June 24, 2012 at 23:10

    I just wanted to write and thank you for liking today’s post, titled “Success,” on the Maddie Files! I’m glad you did, because it brought me to your blog! I read “Life’s a Beach,” and was glad of the reminder to play a little; I’ve just realized that I had stopped laughing as much as I used to…and that’s no way to live! Peace! Everymom, the Original “Maddie” :-)

     
    • 400daystil40

      June 25, 2012 at 00:30

      Thanks so much and thank you for visiting – yes, I once also realize I had not laughed in ages – it was a sad revelation, but a healthy one that allowed me to evaluate and make healthy changes. Hang in there!

       
  10. maddiefiles

    June 24, 2012 at 23:12

    BTW, for what it’s worth, I had the same quest to figure life out by 40 (-ish), but, as soon as I hit 40, everything just fell into place…I’m living proof that all the work you’ve down till now, all the work you’re doing today, and all the work you will do in the remaining 240+ days till 40 will DEFINITELY pay dividends soon! Peace and keep well, Everymom, aka the Original “Maddie”

     
    • 400daystil40

      June 25, 2012 at 00:29

      Thanks for your comment! I really appreciate the encouragement!!!

       
  11. Capt. Savage

    June 25, 2012 at 00:06

    Did this last night with my 3 kids, something so calming yet threatening in the power of waves!

     
  12. Lady T

    June 25, 2012 at 19:20

    I live in SoCal within minutes of several beaches. I share your love for the beach as it recharges my solar-powered heart. I feel for those living in land-locked parts of the country. Good read.

     
    • 400daystil40

      June 25, 2012 at 23:04

      I feel for them too! I do not get to the beach enough and I am hoping this will be a good reminder to go more often.

       
  13. narf77

    June 26, 2012 at 00:14

    Life is indeed a beach…not that I would be wanting to dabble my tender tootsies anywhere NEAR a beach at this moment in time when its -2C outside the door and just heading out to get another log for the wood stove is a “paper; rock; scissors” moment for us ;)

     
    • 400daystil40

      June 26, 2012 at 09:28

      Ah yes, it all depends on where you live!!! :) I hope to enjoy the beach many more times while we have weather that will allow us to. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,845 other followers

