RSS

157 Days ’til 40: Desert Inspiration

17 Sep

 

Some people look at the desert and see a vast amount of land that is desolate and depressing – I see a beautiful landscape, that is gorgeous in its own right and full of potential.

Some places and spaces in our lives are all about our attitude and interpretation.  I believe the desert is one of these places.  Deserts are beautiful, and although their beauty differs from the beauty of the Redwood Forest, the beauty exists.  I think it is so important for us to see beauty in everything – differing landscapes and different people.

Today, 157 days ’til 40, I am thankful to see the beauty in all the things that surround me.

~400daystil40

 

Tags: , , , , ,

22 responses to “157 Days ’til 40: Desert Inspiration

  1. walkwiththerabbi

    September 17, 2012 at 00:11

    I love the desert. It’s very honest. What you see is what you get! There’s an undisturbed beauty in her. There’s no attempt to impress her suitors. She says, “Here am I. Love me or leave me. I will be the same either whichever you choose. But if you leave, please – leave me exactly as you found me.”

     
  2. viveka

    September 17, 2012 at 00:15

    Like you I think the desert are very beautiful … but I will have difficult to see the beauty in everything – abuse, crime, violence, war … there is nothing beautiful in that … I know that’s what you meant, but it’s a big part of our reality today. It’s our world .. our everyday, even if we aren’t affected by it.

     
    • 400daystil40

      September 18, 2012 at 00:11

      Very true, there are some things that there is not beauty in – I was really referring more to nature than to acts performed by bad people… which, sadly, seems to exist everywhere in our world…..

       
      • viveka

        September 18, 2012 at 01:01

        I know you were !! Only me in a funny mood yesterday.

         
  3. knitxpressions

    September 17, 2012 at 03:22

    I fully agree with you. When you try to see beauty in the things around you, then you can start to appreciate life and this amazing planet that we live in.

     
  4. streepie

    September 17, 2012 at 05:05

    I was fortunate enough to live in a research station in the middle of the Namib Desert for over three years. I’ve also been to the Sahara, the Kalahari and the Karoo, as well as the Sonoran desert. I love the wide open spaces and the colours of deserts – and the amazing variety of plants and animals that live there. Deserts will always have a special place in my heart – I love the openness and the ruggedness of desert, and marvel at their beauty.

     
    • 400daystil40

      September 18, 2012 at 00:10

      Oh wow, what an experience that must have been for you!

       
  5. Nicole

    September 17, 2012 at 05:13

    Very nice post. I grew up in a desert climate, and have grown to appreciate the beauty of it even more as I grow older.

     
    • 400daystil40

      September 18, 2012 at 00:10

      Thanks, Nicole! I also grew up in a desert climate!

       
  6. lengesinski

    September 17, 2012 at 06:28

    The Ability and/or Willingness to Try and Find Beauty in Everything……Excellent!

     
  7. tchistorygal

    September 17, 2012 at 07:23

    I agree. It took a while for this midwestern transplant to learn to love the color brown.

     
    • 400daystil40

      September 18, 2012 at 00:09

      Hehehe – I actually like the color brown – and it is my 8 year olds favorite color!

       
  8. The White Pumpkin

    September 17, 2012 at 22:19

    I second this motion and pumpkin approve its message. ;)

     
  9. colormusing

    September 18, 2012 at 04:59

    Couldn’t agree more. I was just in Santa Fe 2 weeks ago, and am always amazed at the variety of colors.

     
  10. gold price

    October 11, 2012 at 18:40

    Those who did give ALL are the heroes we are to honor and memorialize this Memorial Day. Veteran’s Day coming in October will be to celebrate all veterans, past and present, certainly including those who serve now. But giving ALL means those men and women who have fallen while giving service to our country – our honored Dead. In 1868 it was initiated and was called Decoration Day – a special day to pay tribute to our patriots by decorating their graves with flowers, wreaths, and flags. I read yesterday that in Arlington Cemetery, Washington, D.C, that 1500 servicemen from all branches of our military, spent three hours placing U.S. flags on the 300,000 graves at that location. I know you’ve seen pictures of Arlington with row after row after row of those white crosses and spotted here and there the Star of David also. I believe also it is where the Unknown Soldier’s grave is located where our President places the wreath on his grave as a representative of all Americans.

     
    • 400daystil40

      October 11, 2012 at 20:34

      Thank you so much for your great comment and the background history re: Veteran’s Day – I learned a lot just by reading your comment – thank you so much!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,865 other followers

