RSS

141 Days ’til 40: Pausing to Recognize Accomplishments

03 Oct

Today was one of those days when everything went well at work.  We had been planning for an important visit since last spring and the visit went very well.  The visitor was impressed and offered words of praise and encouragement.  This was a day that, for all intents and purposes, should have been highly uplifting.

However….. our visitor had been gone less than ten minutes when I was already back to the daily grind – working my way through a paperwork pile-up that had occurred as a result of my taking the day with our visitor.

Once I was home and had an opportunity to reflect on my day, I realized that I had made a mistake.  When the visitor left and we knew it was a good visit, this was my cue to take a few moments, or even more than a few moments, and be thankful, celebrate, and express my gratitude.  Instead of pausing and enjoying a significant moment of accomplishment, I was already focused on a myriad of new tasks.  This is not healthy – this is not right.

Today, 141 days ’til 40, I strive to remember to pause and enjoy the moments of accomplishment – it is important to acknowledge them.

~400daystil40

 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “141 Days ’til 40: Pausing to Recognize Accomplishments

  1. buckwheatsrisk

    October 3, 2012 at 00:04

    they are almost crucial

     
  2. Another Thousand Words

    October 3, 2012 at 02:23

    Oh, 400…it IS so very important to stop a moment and savour those things which make for fine memories. Looking back, I wonder if you truly realize just how much you are learning (and teaching) during your 39th year? So glad I found your blog…IT makes ME pause and think…more positively! Thank you so very much!

     
    • 400daystil40

      October 3, 2012 at 23:54

      Thank you so much for your words of encouragement…. sometimes it is hard to see the profound moments of the journey as you are in the midst of it……. thanks for your kind words – I love blogging and I love all the wonderful comments and insights you have shared! :)

       
      • Another Thousand Words

        October 4, 2012 at 01:46

        You’re very welcome, 400! Though I have been around more than a quarter century than you (young thing!), I manage to learn from you…and that’s really great, isn’t it?

         
        • 400daystil40

          October 4, 2012 at 21:18

          I love that we hit a point where age no longer matters in friendship and we can all learn from each other :)

           
  3. knittingwithheart

    October 3, 2012 at 02:32

    so true.

     
  4. A Table in the Sun

    October 3, 2012 at 06:03

    Yeh, I know what you mean. Sometimes we push too much. I often ask myself, “What am I trying to prove?”

     
  5. Sharon Hughson

    October 3, 2012 at 06:10

    Thanks for this timely reminder. Not only do we need to pause and relish our own accomplishments, but we should be vigilant in our recognition of the successes of all the important people around us. Young people are especially insecure, and an appropriately timed word of praise can work wonders for their self-esteem.

     
  6. thelastsongiheard

    October 3, 2012 at 06:12

    Absolutely! I hope you took a few moments to celebrate once you got home :)

     
  7. Julie

    October 5, 2012 at 15:35

    Congratulations on the accomplishment to you and your coworkers!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,866 other followers

