RSS

213 Days ’til 40: Staring at the Moon

23 Jul

Drag me to the moon, to catch a star and seize its brilliance as I’m swept up in amorphous dust. ~ Bradley Chicho

Do not swear by the moon, for she changes constantly. then your love would also change. ~ William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

Everything has a natural explanation. The moon is not a god, but a great rock, and the sun a hot rock. ~ Anazagoras

For most people, we often marvel at the beauty of a sunrise or the magnificence of a full moon, but it is impossible to fathom the magnitude of the universe that surrounds us. ~ Richard H. Baker

A conservative is a man who will not look at the new moon out of respect for that “ancient institution” the old one. ~ Douglas Jerrold

Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. ~ Mark Twain

We are all like the bright moon, we still have our darker side. ~ Khalil Gibran

The moon is a loyal companion.
It never leaves. It’s always there, watching, steadfast, knowing us in our light and dark moments, changing forever just as we do. Every day it’s a different version of itself. Sometimes weak and wan, sometimes strong and full of light. The moon understands what it means to be human.
Uncertain. Alone. Cratered by imperfections. ~ Tahereh Mafi, Shatter Me  

As a child I was always fascinated by the moon, so when I took this photo of the moon I thought I would put it up on my blog, along with some great moon quotes.

As a child I was also very philosophical and staring at the moon often caused me to move into deep thought about the vastness of the universe and the smallness of ourselves among it.  I found myself often wondering what life was about and if we one did not exist, what did it look like when life did not exist?  How can anything exist?  How can nothing exist?  I often found that I could go from fascination to total freak out in a very short amount of time as I realized how insignificant I was in a universal vastness so infinitely beyond my carnal comprehension.  To this day I understand how so many people need a faith to believe in – to help answer the questions that leave you full of apprehension and lack of understanding.

Today, 213 days ’til 40, I still stare at the moon, and am still in awe at the vastness of the universe we inhabit.

~400daystil40

 
15 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in attitude, Health, Self-help, therapy

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “213 Days ’til 40: Staring at the Moon

  1. walkwiththerabbi

    July 23, 2012 at 00:29

    I’m in awe of most everything. It still blows my mind how I can simply press a button and voila – moving pictures and sound on a screen. How do all those people make themselves so small, so as to crawl through the wires to entertain me and manage to do the same for millions of others simultaneously? How do they know I pressed the button? Unreal!

     
  2. Lucianus Mauricius

    July 23, 2012 at 04:14

    “Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. ~ Mark Twain” – This is so true, great quote.

     
  3. Spider42

    July 23, 2012 at 08:36

    I still do all the things you describe your kid self doing 😀 It’s a personal favourite mental activity and makes for some great discussions in a like-minded group.

    Thanks for sharing, cheers..

     
    • 400daystil40

      July 23, 2012 at 09:01

      Thank you! Yes, I can still do that too!

       
  4. jensine

    July 23, 2012 at 18:28

    I love the moon and always think it has so many stories to tell

     
  5. sdunnebacke

    July 24, 2012 at 06:18

    Nature, cats, space… you’re hitting so many subjects near and dear to me lately – I guess you’ll be blogging about my children soon.

     
  6. nettrobbens

    July 24, 2012 at 18:20

    Great, blog. I love your choice in destination. Thanks for stopping by my site.

    Best to you,
    N

     
  7. simon7banksS

    July 27, 2012 at 17:09

    I find the moon fascinating and awe-inspiring too. It makes no real difference that I know it’s a big rock and I’m also interested in the theory that the moon is a leftover from a collision between early Earth and a sister planet.

    Though I’ve never been described as, or thought of myself as, a conservative, I think the Jerrold quote is a bit unfair: a conservative, as opposed to a reactionary, would look at the new moon and say it looked pretty similar to something (s)he saw a month ago and maybe we should react to it the same way. To apply that a bit more practically, an intelligent conservative might see a revolution not as a new dawn but as part of a moon-like cycle (revolution – repression – development – settlement – ossification – revolution).

     
    • 400daystil40

      July 27, 2012 at 23:39

      Thanks for your comment! Very interesting moon/ collision theory – will have to look that up!

       

Leave a Reply

 
