RSS

140 Days ’til 40: Negating Negativity

04 Oct

 

Always turn a negative situation into a positive situation. ~ Michael Jordan

There is little difference in people, but that little difference makes a big difference. The little difference is attitude. The big difference is whether it is positive or negative. ~ W. Clement Stone

Attitude often is everything – as cliché as it sounds.  I see this consistently in all areas of my life – home and work.  We can greatly change the outcome of the circumstances we encounter with our choice of response to the circumstances.  As a person who supervises a staff of over 30, I see how individuals react to many different scenarios.  I find that some people will react to a tough circumstance with anger, while others accept the reality and quickly move into coping with the situation at hand.  I also see some people who are more likely to spread negative information about individuals, while others care very much about preserving relationships and not gossiping or dishonoring their colleagues.

Today, 140 days ’til 40, I remind myself that I have the power to change a situation by the way I choose to react.  I will leave you with a beautiful Cherokee Legend ~ one of my favorites.

A Cherokee Legend

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.

“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

~400daystil40

 

Tags: , , , , ,

20 responses to “140 Days ’til 40: Negating Negativity

  1. buckwheatsrisk

    October 4, 2012 at 04:40

    i love this!

     
  2. sakuraandme

    October 4, 2012 at 09:46

    Boy is that true!!…Legend or not!!
    Thanks for reminding me…*huggs* xx

     
  3. kenthinksaloud

    October 4, 2012 at 12:50

    I love that quote and use it often. Very wise words indeed. 🙂

     
  4. Another Thousand Words

    October 4, 2012 at 16:25

    What a great legend, 400! So totally inspiring…I wish everyone would stop and read it, then think about the wolves inside!

     
  5. saymber

    October 4, 2012 at 17:08

    Ironically my husband and I went through this last night after watching the Presidential debate lol! I have read that Cherokee Legend before and it is so true! The fight between our light and shadow sides. But as you say here – there is always a choice! It feels like feeding the evil wolf is very satisfying for the moment.

     
    • 400daystil40

      October 4, 2012 at 21:13

      Really? Interesting! I purposely did NOT watch the debate!

       
  6. Trinity Rivers

    October 4, 2012 at 18:17

    Thank for sharing. I love the Cherokee legend.

     
  7. Mari

    October 4, 2012 at 19:13

    We attract what we are and being positive shouldn’t be as complicated as we make it but sometimes we allow the negativity that we are already carrying to blind us from seeing the positive side of anything. I love the legend you shared, it reminds me of a quote I once read that says “we stopped checking for monsters under our bed when we realized they were inside us”… We create our own monsters and we determine which ones survive and which ones don’t.

    Thank you for always sharing such uplifting posts! 😉

     
    • 400daystil40

      October 4, 2012 at 21:13

      Ah yes, that is so true, isn’t it??? And thank YOU for the compliment!!! 🙂

       
  8. rachturner

    October 4, 2012 at 19:18

    LOVE the W. Clement Stone quote. That’s going on my quote page for sure!

     
  9. transitionstande

    October 5, 2012 at 17:24

    Wonderful post, and I love the Cherokee legend. It is so true, whatever we feed or focus on is what grows.

     
  10. Josephine T

    October 6, 2012 at 14:33

    Love the post. Highly apt and thought-provoking quotes and the Cherokee story too! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • 400daystil40

      October 6, 2012 at 21:17

      Thank you so much for your kind comment!

       

Leave a comment